Help fix up the hall

Longford Town Hall is a beloved community hub, but the passage of time has taken its toll. The beautiful architecture, which once stood as a proud beacon for local arts and music, now shows signs of wear and tear. Cracks mar the walls, while the once-vibrant paint has faded, leaving the exterior looking tired.

Inside, echoes of performances past can still be felt, but outdated facilities hinder the hall's potential. The candy bar and box office are long gone and much needed. The balcony has been decomissioned for many years, and the the downstairs rooms are rotten and sealed off.

A restoration project presents an exciting opportunity to breathe new life into Longford Town Hall. By revamping the hall, we can honour its legacy while providing a renewed space for creativity to flourish. Community engagement in this process is vital. Together, we can celebrate our rich history while paving the way for future generations to enjoy the arts.

To achieve this vision, we need the support of everyone in the community. Donations, volunteer time, and input on design ideas will play crucial roles in this restoration endeavour. Let’s come together to restore the heart of our community, ensuring it continues to thrive as a sanctuary for art and music for years to come.

Architecture

an impressive two-storied Victorian building with a richly decorated stucco façade.
— Heritage data sheet

The Hall is important to the Longford community's sense of place.

The building demonstrates the principal characteristics of a double storey stuccoed Victorian Academic Classical public building.

The parapet, central pediment, cornice and entablature are supported on full height engaged Corinthian columns and pilasters. The central window of the upper level has a segmental arch with a decorated keystone.

History

Our story of the Longford Town Hall begins with one Elizabeth Noake.

We know there’s a much older story that begins with the Tasmanian Aboriginal Panninher people, but tragically much of the story has been lost.

  • Ms Noake owned the adjacent Queen’s Arms Hotel (built in 1835). In 1880, she built the Assembly Rooms to replace Longford’s Tivoli Theatre, which was destroyed by fire. An internal door linked the Assembly Rooms allowing access to the Queen’s Arms Hotel. This doorway was blocked off when the Council purchased the building. 

  • The friendly society known as the Ancient Order of Foresters purchased the building in 1892 and renamed the Assembly Rooms, “Foresters Hall”. The Longford Chapter was known as “Court Robin Hood”. The founding principles of the Society were to provide financial and social benefits as well as to support members and their families in times of unemployment, sickness, death, disability, and old age. 

  • The Longford Council bought the building from the Foresters when they disbanded their chapter and renamed it the Longford Town Hall. The hall is now used for community activities such as events, school assemblies, dances, concerts, club meetings, exhibitions, and festivals. The Longford Town Hall is a cultural hub of the Northern Midlands of Tasmania.